You are here

Faculty of Science

General information



Room T715 Cha Chi Ming Science TowerHo Sin Hang Campus224 Waterloo Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong



+852 34115862


+852 34117011


The Faculty of Science was formally established in 1961 as one of the founding faculties of the University. Through the dedicated efforts of its members over the years, the Faculty has laid down a solid foundation and progressed to the forefront of science education and scientific research.

The Faculty is committed to providing quality teaching programmes at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels with constant updating of curricula and development of new majors to keep abreast with scientific and technological advancement and community needs.

Currently, the Faculty consists of five departments, namely the Department of Biology, the Department of Chemistry, the Department of Computer Science, the Department of Mathematics and the Department of Physics. We offer nine undergraduate, six taught postgraduate and research postgraduate programmes.

The Faculty places dual emphasis on teaching and research, and values research as the key to improving the quality of teaching and fostering scientific development for the benefit of the community. To enhance academic and research excellence, two research institutes, namely the Institute of Advanced Materials and the Institute of Computational and Theoretical Studies have been established by consolidating several research centres in 2011. The re-organization is expected to promote multi-disciplinary, cross-departmental and inter-institutional research collaboration, thereby achieving valuable synergies and developing niche areas of research.